And the CFDA Nominees Are…

Gina Marinelli

Receiving an honour from the Council of Fashion Designers of America is among one of the highest recognitions that someone within the fashion industry can claim. But choosing one per category for the 2017 awards is going to be a very, very difficult decision.

Today the CFDA announced its official list of nominated artists, filled with both industry vets like Marc Jacobs and newcomers—but only to the United States—such as Raf Simons, for his short but highly impressive work at Calvin Klein. Also among the nominations are the potential recipients of the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent that celebrates so many of the talented labels we can't stop talking about (and celebrities can't stop wearing), including Off-White, Monse, and Brock Collection.

Of course, along with the annual awards, the CFDA will also honour many of the women and men who make positive change and set the bar high for what they do. This year specially, three individuals will be recognised for their work in the Women's March, each having used her voice and talents in a different way: Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem, and Janelle Monáe. And in the most bittersweet moment tonight, the CFDA announced that Franca Sozzani, the late editor in chief of Vogue Italia who passed away in December, will posthumously receive the Fashion Icon Award.

Below, take a look at the entire list of CFDA Award nominees and honorees, and be sure to check back here for updates on award night, June 5.

The 2017 CFDA Award Nominees and Honorees

Womenswear Designer of the Year Award Nominees

Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra

Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

Marc Jacobs

Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row


Menswear Designer of the Year Award Nominees

Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

Robert Geller

Thom Browne

Tim Coppens

Todd Snyder


Accessory Designer of the Year Award Nominees

Stuart Vevers for Coach

Irene Neuwirth

Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel

Paul Andrew

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row


Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent Nominees

Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection

Gabriela Hearst

Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse

Virgil Abloh for Off-White

Sander Lak for Sies Marjan


Swarovski Award for Positive Change Recipient

Kenneth Cole


Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Rick Owens


Founder's Award Recipient

Pat McGrath


International Award Recipient

Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga


Board of Directors' Tribute Recipients

Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem, and Janelle Monáe


Fashion Icon Award Recipient

Franca Sozzani

Ready to start placing your bets? Tell us who your favourites are in the comments, and shop drop-dead-gorgeous gowns for your own next big night in fashion.

Want more fashion trends? Follow us on Pinterest.
Explore: news, CFDA Awards

Add a Comment

More Stories